Am I a man or a mouse?

A couple of nights ago I had a dream. It was a little bit strange but that is not unusual for me and I suppose it is the nature of dreams that there are a little strange. I wish they could just be clear and then I would understand if it was trying to give me a message or warning or whether it is just my overactive mind keeping going even when I am trying to sleep.

Anyway, back to the dream. I don’t know exactly how it started but I was out and about and somehow got into some form of confrontation and the next I know is that I am a mouse scurrying away into the far depths of a hole I had quickly found. I stayed there for a while until I felt the danger might have passed, then I got close to the opening of the hole and started having a sniff around. I assume that I smelled nothing untoward as I edged slowly and tentatively further and further out of the hole. As I peeped my little mouse head out I realised it was lovely and sunny but then someone walked past with their big human shoes and I bobbed back inside again but only for a moment this time and then ventured further out into the lovely sunshine and the dream ended or at least my memory of it did.

If the dream had any significant meaning I do not know. If you are a real dream interpreter and you see a meaning to it then please feel free to leave me a message or drop me an email. To me it was significant in the thought of whether I was, as the old saying goes, a man or a mouse. In real life I want to be a man and be able to stand up for myself but I cannot. In my head I have every argument and eventuality played out a thousand times over but in reality the moment someone confronts me for whatever reason I collapse in a quivering mess. I will then replay that situation over and over in my head for months and years to come and know how I should have argued the matter and how I would and should have won but that is easy to do. Winning in real times is the hard bit as I hate any form of confrontation even if I am in the right – which of course I always am!

But what really happens in those situations? “Real men” would probably end up get into a fight which has numerous potential outcomes. None of which do I want for myself. So is it really a problem being a mouse? It might be depending on what was at stake but in at least nine times out of ten or more likely 99 times out of 100 there isn’t anything that important at stake other then maybe a bit of pride.

So, do I want to be a man or a mouse? Well, yes, I still want to be a man but if being a mouse keeps me and my family safe and well then maybe it’s not too bad down my hole.

Published by Oldgrumpydad

Older dad who wants to discover himself, how he can be a better dad and to be able to interact with people and the world in general.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started